Skip to main content

The President of the Union

About the President of the Union

The President of the Union (PU) is elected by the student body and appoints an Executive Board of 15–20 students, which is responsible for the Rensselaer Union’s budget. The Rensselaer Union Executive Board serves as the chief financial body of the Rensselaer Union, responsible for preparing and approving the budget for the following fiscal year, administering current Union funds, and managing the business affairs of the Rensselaer Student Union and subsidiary facilities.

The PU is a non-voting member of the Executive Board but plays a key role in the development of Rensselaer Union programs, services, policies, and the general student experience. The PU works closely with the Rensselaer Union Staff, Athletic Staff, students, and student organizations. The derby hat has become an iconic symbol worn by the PU at campus events.

History of the Position

The position of President of the Union was created in 1890 in alignment with the formation of the Rensselaer Union.

A derby, the symbol of the office, is awarded to the winning candidate at the conclusion Grand Marshal Week Elections. The derby matches the top hat awarded to the winning candidate for Grand Marshal.

Holders of Office

The current and 130th President of the Union is Caitlin Kennedy ’20.

A full list of past Presidents of the Union can be found here.